Phantom Call by Strike Brewing Company

Hello and happy NFC and AFC Championship Games Day! Jack from The Intoxicated Review writing in on game day to take a break from football and talk about some beer! Today’s brew comes from Strike Brewing Company in San Jose, California. I chose Phantom Call, which is a hazy DIPA with milk sugar. I have had this one before and I think you’re gonna like it, so here’s my review.

BREWERY:

Strike Brewing Company

APV:

8.3%

THE SHEET:

Hops: Zappa

THE POUR:

Well…as the beer’s name states…it’s hazy in appearance and completely opaque. The beer is a darker golden color and has a head that forms at one inch.

THE AROMA:

There is kind of a lot going on with this beer, so bare with me. Hop-forward for sure. There is a mild hop aroma that shows up first, followed up by a plethora of other aromas. I can smell vanilla, passion fruit and another fruit that I can’t identify.

THE FLAVOR:

Right away there is a super mild bitterness, which is quickly swept away by the sweet and creamy flavors of the milk sugar. Right after that is the mixture of vanilla and passion fruit. On the back end the beer has a crisp, yet smooth finish with a lingering mango flavor (the other fruit smell I couldn’t place).

THE BODY:

I find that the milk sugar makes this beer very drinkable. I rate the body of this beer at medium.

OVERALL:

Friends, this is a very tasty beer! I found it to be easy to drink with tons of new flavor profiles. That Zappa hops is really something! I highly recommend this beer!

Well friends, I gotta run, but thank you very much for reading today and everyday! See you on the next one.

Jack

Leave a comment