Sierra Nevada Brewing Company Experimental Hop Session IPA

Well beer buddies, another Monday in the books! That means it’s beer time with me! Jack from the intoxicated review coming to you live from my kitchen to bring you Sierra Nevada Brewing Company’s Experimental Hop Session IPA. This is the fourth beer in the pack of four and thus marks the completion of my review of these four beers. I snuck a few other beers in between my reviews of these beers, but I figured what the heck for variety’s sake. Today’s review, obviously, is a Session IPA, which I don’t typically review very often. I have nothing against them, it’s just personal preference. Here’s the review.

BREWERY:

Sierra Nevada Brewing Company

APV:

4.6%

THE SHEET:

Hops: HBC 520 and 09326

THE POUR:

This Session IPA has a bright golden, almost yellow color to it. It has a very frothy head to it, which forms at about one half inch, but quickly sets down to about one sixteenth of an inch.

THE AROMA:

This brew has a light, but very unique smell to it. I can smell lemon, something that smells like herbs, and hints of coconut. Should be quite a taste.

THE FLAVOR:

Sierra Nevada describes the flavor of this beer as “snappy”. I’ll admit, it does have a flavor all of its own. Up front I get the hoppy flavor from the experimental hops. I also get the aforementioned herbs. On the back end it get the citrus from the lemon. This beer has a very crisp finish to it.

THE BODY:

In my experience Session IPAs tend to have a lighter body than your average IPA. You get the same flavor quality, just with a lower alcohol content. That being said I would rate the body of this beer at light.

OVERALL:

Friends, though I may not choose a Session IPA often, this one I would willingly choose again. I was quite surprised by the flavor as well as the aroma. I highly recommend this beer.

That’s all I have for today, but I’ll be back again soon with another review for you.

Thank you very much for reading!

Jack

Leave a comment